Asus Striker Extreme

Soldato
Joined
17 Sep 2005
Posts
2,983
Location
Everywhere
I have just bought one of these to replace my DS3. I have a X6800. What would be the best settings for this? Specs are :

X6800
G.Skill HZ 6400 2GB
BFG 8800GTX

Cheers!
 
Associate
Joined
12 Feb 2004
Posts
1,943
Location
Stoke
Hi , what have you managed so far i.e. fsb to multi and are you running linked or unlinked and last question is are you on xp
 
Associate
Joined
12 Feb 2004
Posts
1,943
Location
Stoke
Talbs13 said:
Running XP. Currently on 330 x 11. Unlinked i think?

Hi , 3300 x 11 = 3.63Ghz , if thats what its running at its not so bad , do you have cpuz to try ,

You could try 1600 x 9 and see if it boots , set ram to unlinked at 800 if its 800Mhz ram or 1000 if its 1000Mhz stuff, also set nb volts to 1.45 - 1.5 volts and see what it does , also what bios do you have ?
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Sep 2005
Posts
2,983
Location
Everywhere
I set it to 1600x9 NB to 1.45 and i get errors on start up.

Wasnt stable. Got BSOD and couldnt PI 1MB. Have tried 1400x11 @ 3.55
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
12 Sep 2005
Posts
6,496
Location
Grundisburgh
Hi Gav,

Have you put your PC together yet? I've just made a similar system and had the following problems. The on-0board sound card riser won't fit very well next to the EVGA in slot 1 and *** on board sound I thought was pretty poor.

Not a problem as I was going ot fit my X-Fi Fatal1ty but that won't fit in the remaining PCI slot that is almost left available with the fitting of a second EVG KO Superclocked. There is a large capacitor and a black block that pushes the sound car away from the second videocard.

You have to use PCI-e 1 and 3 for two EVGA cards.

I had to 'downgrade' my sound card to an X-Fi extreme gamer (the low profile one) which still has a fairly large capacitor on it that can be left touching the heat sink on the second vid card.

So far so good, a BIOS upgrade (0907 I think) solved the X-Fi crackle issue. Everything is stock speed (only built 2 days ago) getting 13500 in 3dMark 06.

Andi.





Gavster2002 said:
Hi guys,

I am in the process of trying to figure out what hardware I should get to upgrade my current P4. I am thinking of the following: what do you think, and more importantly should it all be compatable with the striker. thanks.

MB: ASUS Striker Exteme (Already Purchased)

CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme Quad-Core QX6700

Mem:2GB (2x1GB) Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator, PC2-10000, 240 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 5-5-5-18

HDD: Western Digital Raptop, also additional 500GB drive for general stuff storage

Graphics: 768MB EVGA 8800GTX KO Superclocked PCI-E 2000MHz GPU 626MHz 128Streams Dual DVI-I/HDTV ACS3 Arctic C

Case: Antec P180 (From old PC)

Sound Card: Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtream Gamer Fatal1ty Professional (From Old PC)

Power Supply... not sure yet. any suggestions????

I currently have air cooling with 6 fans in case and Freezer 7 Pro for CPU. would this be sufficient? I was thinking of water cooling but worried my case may be a bit too small? any of you installed in Antec P180??

Cheers for any advice

Gav
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
12 Feb 2004
Posts
1,943
Location
Stoke
Beta bios out ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/mb/socket775/Stricker%20Extreme/ version 1202

BIOS version: 1202 Date:05/23/2007

Checksum: A800H

01.Update NV RAID ROM to 6.98
02.Update NVMM to 4.A72.24
03.Support wolfdale CPU.
04.Release EZflash B322
05.Add microcode not found & update fail message.
06.Modify CPU fan speed warning item value.

** Micro Code Information **
ID CPUID |ID CPUID |ID CPUID |ID CPUID
-----------+-----------+-----------+---------
2C 0F25 |17 0F34 |17 0F41 |05 0F43
06 0F44 |03 0F47 |04 0F4A |03 0F49
04 0F64 |0A 0F32 |02 0F37 |05 0F60
07 0F61 |0F 0F62 |09 0F65 |A1 06FD
B3 06FB |82 06F9 |66 06F7 |C6 06F6
56 06F2 |33 06F5 |33 06F5 |26 06F4
32 0661 |04 0660 |B3 06FB |06 0671
06 0671 |

================================================== ==================================
BIOS version: 1201 Date:05/09/2007

Checksum: 1200H

01.Use new French translation.
02.Modify General Help string.
03.Use new B5 translation.
04.Fixed floppy item value error.
05.Skip checking 2nd Checksum for some memory patch
06.Disable unused PCIE Bridge to fix
a.DTM -PCI Compliance issue
b.ATI Crossfire fail issue.
07.Use new GB translation.
08.Patch Hynix HYMP512U64CP8-S5-AB when Full Loading for stability
09.Release EZ Flash2 version B321.
10.Update new microcode :
a.New Micro Code for CPU: 06FBH Patch ID=B3H Platform ID =10h (Kentsfield-G0).
b.New Micro Code for CPU: 06FBH Patch ID=B3H Platform ID =01h (Conroe-G0).
c.New Micro Code for CPU: 06FDH Patch ID=A1H Platform ID =01h (Conroe-M0).
11.Use new Japanese translation.
12.Support post message in Japanese
13.Added SATA trap for MCP55.
14.Fixed L1 and L2 cache size will show incorrect in DMI with Conroe-L CPU.
15.Update Micro Code for CPU: 10661H Patch ID=32H Platform ID =01h (Conroe-L-A1).
16.Fixed Conroe-L CPU L2 cache size show incorrect issue.
17.Update Micro Code for CPU=0F65H ID=09H Platform ID=04h. (Cedar Mill/Cedar Mill ICP/Presler)
18.Fixed when Post96h update DMI data and AC power loss.The DMI data might be destroyed.


Raja will contact you later
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
7 Jan 2006
Posts
913
Location
Bedford UK
Andy drop me a pm/email if you can (@ wol if needed) about where this board and it's bios's are at for running fast etc, I got one on it's way for benching some sli, it's been a while since I have ran this board, needless to say there were plenty of things up in the air back then and much may have moved on since...

Will save me time I guess, as it is quite limited nowadays, getting all the insulation done takes enough time as it is, then I gotta hunt out bios bugs to know where I gotta run to make it all work...

If you don't have time it's fine...

regards
Raja
 
Top Bottom