Going from 2x8 to 4x8, any issues with this?

Associate
Joined
11 Jan 2011
Posts
2,169
Hi all,

I'm looking to upgrade my memory.

I currently have:

Motherboard -MSI MPG B550 Gaming Edge WiFi

Memory - Crucial Ballistix BL2K8G36C16U4R 3600 MHz 2 x 8GB

I'm looking to buy another set of the above memory so I will go from 2x8 to 4x8.

Are there any issues that may happen or am I forgetting something totally obvious or can I literally just slot these 2 extra sticks in and off I go?

Thank you!
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
15,965
Location
Manchester
The memory controller is on the CPU nowadays, assuming you're using one of the generation of ryzens. It could struggle to run the higher memory speeds with all 4 banks filled. It might be fine, it might need tweaking sadly.
 
Associate
Joined
1 Dec 2015
Posts
1,176
You may need to tweak the timings and voltages to keep it stable.

I added an extra 16gb to my 5950x and b450 system and had to spend some time to get it to run at 3600 and I had to drop the timings from c14 down to c16.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
11 Jan 2011
Posts
2,169
Ah really? Never knew that. Is there a guide you can provide for this as I've never done this before, much appreciated guys
 
Caporegime
Joined
8 Jan 2004
Posts
30,171
Location
Rutland
It is usually not a problem with single rank sticks (which nearly all 8GB modules will be) but trying to run 4 dual rank modules can be hard work on AM4.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
11 Jan 2011
Posts
2,169
I think I'll just order a set and see how it goes lol. I will be back here to confirm! hopefully this will help other people if they come across this query too
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Mar 2008
Posts
3,309
@Brumboy

Have you added the extra RAM yet?

I am running 4 sticks of the same RAM (RGB version though) with no problems at all.

I did read that 4 single rank sticks equates to having 2 dual rank sticks.

I have a 5800X on a X570 mobo.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
1,038
Location
Belfast
I did read that 4 single rank sticks equates to having 2 dual rank sticks.
Kinda.

It does emulate a lot of the bandwidth improvements of dual rank DIMMs but I have 2 kits of 16 gig DDR4 3200 CL14 that can't keep up with my dual rank 3200CL17 32gig kit.
 
Associate
Joined
5 Mar 2017
Posts
1,825
Location
Cambridge
Should be fine. As mentioned before, first gen Ryzen (1000 series) was a pain for memory compatibility, 2000 series improved and from 3000 series or 5000 series are fine, unless you’re very unlucky or using exotic RAM.
Been running 8Pack Samsung B-die since Ryzen 1600x and never had issues. The kits are 2 x 8GB 3200 (4 x 8GB in total) and was running them using the 3600 timings and 1.36V no issues, apart from Battlefield V, which was a very poor game, anyway.
Has been solid since 2013. Now still rocking on a Z690 motherboard.
 
Associate
Joined
5 Mar 2017
Posts
1,825
Location
Cambridge
i got 3200 ram but 4 sticks runs max at 2733mhz on my r7 1700 and my 5600x. with 2 sticks 3200mhz worked fine.
First gen Ryzen was a pain regarding RAM. I decided to splash and go with Samsung B-die, and I’m glad I did. The second gen Ryzen improved things, third gen was solid and last gen allowed some decent RAM overclock.
Quite few people had to wait few BIOS updates to be able to run their RAM past 3000MHz.
 
Soldato
Joined
31 Dec 2007
Posts
13,031
Location
The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK
I've got 4 x 8gb 3600mhz with my x570 and 5800x3D and it runs fine. The timings are a bit slow CL18 but I cant be bothered to eek out anymore performance they work just fine. I've had 4 x 8gb of different DDR4 for the past 5-6 years. As long as I get all 4 the same model.
 
Top Bottom