Logitech Z-5500's - Sometimes wont power on?

Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
535
So I have had my Z-5500's speakers since about 2006.
To this day, they have worked incredibly well! Only had to change the fuse in the back of the sub once.

For about the last week or 2, I have had an issue where sometimes when pressing the power-button on the control pod nothing happens. Light remains Red.
If I turn off the power on the back of the sub, or unplug it then straight back on they work fine.

This has happened about 3-4 times now. Each time, easy fix.

Just wondering if this might be an early tell of issues developing?

Anybody still using their set and had this issue?

Seems Logitech never really replaced these (the Z906 seem meh :|), so Im really hoping to keep these going as long as possible, despite them already having served so well for so long!
 
Associate
Joined
9 Feb 2018
Posts
114
It's a long shot but you might want to try contacting Logitech support, might be able to supply you with a replacement control pod. Either that or try and find a cheap one on the 'bay or marketplace, switching out the control pod for a known good one will tell you where the problem is.

Shame you didnt post this a few months ago, I gave two working sets to charity!
 
Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
535
I will try get another control-pod from the bay. Keep an eye on prices.

You gave 2x to charity!!? Full sets? How come?
 
Don
Joined
19 May 2012
Posts
14,183
Location
Spalding, Lincolnshire
It's a common problem with the Z-5500 Control Pod - normally the backlight is a sign of the failure, and is caused by a capacitor failing I think.

https://www.diyaudio.com/community/threads/hacking-the-logitech-z5500.110310/page-34
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/help-repairing-my-logitech-z-5500s/
https://www.reddit.com/r/fixit/comments/qxtutj/fixit_logitech_z5500_control_pod/


The pinouts are quite widely available, and people have created various control pod "bypass cables", so that the sub/speakers can still be used even when the control pod completely fails
 
Associate
Joined
9 Feb 2018
Posts
114
I upgraded my PC sound a few years ago, was using the 5500 sub with an AV-receiver until I upgraded to a hifi sub in the black friday sale last year.

The 2nd one was on the main TV but started playing up - on some channels the sound format shifts from Dolby Digital to just a stereo feed during ad breaks, more and more frequently it was crashing when switching back to the main program. Switched it out for a decent soundbar, bit nicer nit having all the wires tbh. Still worked fine when I hooked it up to my PC for a few days. Charity shop was still happy to take it despite the gremlin.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
535
It's a common problem with the Z-5500 Control Pod - normally the backlight is a sign of the failure, and is caused by a capacitor failing I think.

https://www.diyaudio.com/community/threads/hacking-the-logitech-z5500.110310/page-34
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/help-repairing-my-logitech-z-5500s/
https://www.reddit.com/r/fixit/comments/qxtutj/fixit_logitech_z5500_control_pod/


The pinouts are quite widely available, and people have created various control pod "bypass cables", so that the sub/speakers can still be used even when the control pod completely fails
Yes I have seen a fair few cables that replace the control pod. My only concern with those is how do you turn on/off the system? None I have seen seem to have a power button!


I upgraded my PC sound a few years ago, was using the 5500 sub with an AV-receiver until I upgraded to a hifi sub in the black friday sale last year.

The 2nd one was on the main TV but started playing up - on some channels the sound format shifts from Dolby Digital to just a stereo feed during ad breaks, more and more frequently it was crashing when switching back to the main program. Switched it out for a decent soundbar, bit nicer nit having all the wires tbh. Still worked fine when I hooked it up to my PC for a few days. Charity shop was still happy to take it despite the gremlin.
Im amazed you found a charity shop that would take electricals! All the ones around here are very picky with anything that has a plug on it! :cry:

Ill try for a replacement control pod first. Then see about a cable to remove its need.
 
Associate
Joined
14 Jan 2005
Posts
1,537
Location
Lincoln, UK
My Z5500 set died in a similar fashion. First intermittent issues with powering on until eventually the power led dimmed so much the set would not turn on any more. never had an issue with the backlight.

Logitech no longer had any parts to send out and finding just a pod is near impossible as a replacement pod firmware has to match the serial/firmware in the sub. I have the Z906 which is .. alright but not as impressive or capable as the z5500 it replaced. I miss Dolby Prologic I/II decoding which was useful for older PS1/Ps2 games.
 
Soldato
Joined
3 Jan 2006
Posts
24,227
Location
Chadderton, Oldham
My Z5500 is still working but I wish i could get rid of the pod and connect the sub and speakers to my Denon CEOL Piccolo amp, is this possible at all? Or does the sub have a built in crossover that would make it pointless to attempt?
 
Associate
Joined
10 Feb 2021
Posts
535
Mine keeps doing this on-and-off, but the work-around(s) are getting me by for now.
Either turn it off at the mains and back on, or use the remote control. Oddly once it has been turned on with the remote, the button on the pod works perfectly.
My Z5500 is still working but I wish i could get rid of the pod and connect the sub and speakers to my Denon CEOL Piccolo amp, is this possible at all? Or does the sub have a built in crossover that would make it pointless to attempt?
I have seen a little adapter that connects to the 15-in port on the sub, then gives you RCA connector to connect to another amps sub-out, like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/23403302...s=ispr=1&amdata=enc:1ZzEaE058TdCp79PQjLUWTA91

You could then connect your speakers direct to the amp, and the sub using the above.
 
Top Bottom