MSFS in VR Pc Upgrade Advice

Associate
Joined
22 May 2022
Posts
7
Location
Scotland
I’m really enjoying MSFSim in VR however my PC specs are probably quite well below what is required. As result I have pretty poor frames rates (28fps) on quite low in game settings.

I’m considering upgrading my system probably starting with a GPU initially. My PC specs are;

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Graphics Card

Processor: Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake CPU, 6 Cores, 3.6 - 4.3GHz

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3

Ram: 28Gb
3x 4Gb DDR4 - 2400
1x Vengeance LPX DDR4

PSU Corsair CX650

I have been looking at RTX 3070 or AMD equivalent so budget wise at the time of £620. 00 ($770)

Would this be a good use of my money or are there other system components I would be better changing as well or instead of?
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
22 Jun 2006
Posts
5,067
You might want to wait for the new cards, since even if you go high-end, judging from these articles performance still isn't that great, relatively speaking.

 
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
771
Location
Belfast
Well you’re probably best getting a 3080 as the extra VRAM really helps.

Your ram is running in single channel though so that won’t help your performance.
 
Associate
Joined
12 Jun 2021
Posts
683
Location
Leeds
If you upgrade just the gpu then you will still get very similar fps but you will be able to use much higher graphical settings so it will look prettier. 3070 is not a bad choice at that price bracket, is pretty even scaling with £/performance in the mid range.

MSFS in VR is a very particular game so you will have to look at benchmarks specifically for that game. If hope you are running the game from an SSD and if you are not then thats a good use of your money.

P.s. You do not say what your actual cpu is ?
 
Associate
Joined
22 May 2022
Posts
7
Location
Scotland
Well you’re probably best getting a 3080 as the extra VRAM really helps.

Your ram is running in single channel though so that won’t help your performance.
Thanks for the response JooyJ, what do you mean by running in single channel, unfortunately as you can probably tell I’m not very tec savvy!
 
Associate
Joined
22 May 2022
Posts
7
Location
Scotland
If you upgrade just the gpu then you will still get very similar fps but you will be able to use much higher graphical settings so it will look prettier. 3070 is not a bad choice at that price bracket, is pretty even scaling with £/performance in the mid range.

MSFS in VR is a very particular game so you will have to look at benchmarks specifically for that game. If hope you are running the game from an SSD and if you are not then thats a good use of your money.

P.s. You do not say what your actual cpu is ?
Thanks for your help with this, sorry I’ve added my cpu spec now, it’s an Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake CPU, 6 Cores, 3.6 - 4.3GHz
 
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
771
Location
Belfast
Thanks for the response JooyJ, what do you mean by running in single channel, unfortunately as you can probably tell I’m not very tec savvy!
So you have mismatched ram modules which means the motherboard will downclock The ram to run in the most compatible settings, including setting the channel to single.

It’ll reduce your memory bandwidth and isn’t ideal but I’d take more ram with MSFS rather than faster speeds and low capacity.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
771
Location
Belfast
Thanks for your help with this, sorry I’ve added my cpu spec now, it’s an Intel Core i5-8600K Coffee Lake CPU, 6 Cores, 3.6 - 4.3GHz
Have you tried overclocking? Does it make a difference?

Looking at some sites, MSFS is very demanding on all fronts. CPU, SSD, VRAM etc

Judging by the fact that it constantly downloads data from the internet for weather and maps, that’ll hurt your CPU and SSD performance.

The others can tell me if I’m wrong but would an 8 core 16 thread CpU really improve things?
 
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
771
Location
Belfast
Soldato
Joined
3 Jan 2006
Posts
9,484
Location
Monaco
Well you'll need a new cpu before too long, if you get a 3080 now it should still be OK with a new cpu for a while.
I do believe fs 2020 is single main thread limited though probably not with your 1070 ti.
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Jun 2006
Posts
5,067
So you have mismatched ram modules which means the motherboard will downclock The ram to run in the most compatible settings, including setting the channel to single.

It should have uhm..

channel a: 4+4
channel b: 4+16

so 16GB dual channel, 12GB single channel. 2400 is pretty slow mind, nowadays.
 
Soldato
Joined
5 Oct 2009
Posts
12,007
Location
Spalding, Lincs
It should have uhm..

channel a: 4+4
channel b: 4+16

so 16GB dual channel, 12GB single channel. 2400 is pretty slow mind, nowadays.

I know that some configurations can run both single and dual channel with odd setups. Like 3x8GB can run dual channel on 2 sticks and single on the other. Still not an ideal setup though.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Oct 2019
Posts
771
Location
Belfast
this kit of 32gigs of RAM was £99 recently. Out of stock at the moment.


That plus a 5700X and a B450 motherboard is an upgrade for £440

My basket at OcUK:

Total: £340.48 (includes delivery: £10.50)​

 
Soldato
Joined
22 Jun 2006
Posts
5,067
I know that some configurations can run both single and dual channel with odd setups. Like 3x8GB can run dual channel on 2 sticks and single on the other. Still not an ideal setup though.

It is how Intel setups work, I think Ryzen can do the same, but I don't recall seeing it mentioned.
 
Top Bottom