VR Headset for Sim Racing

Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
14,487
Well my Reverb G2 arrived this morning. What an awful, awful headset. Absolutely crap, so it's being returned.

Spent 2hrs messing about with mixed reality and steamvr getting nowhere. Just can't see the desktop, nor play any games. Hell, can't even move around in steamvr lol When the headsets on, my monitors switch off haha No idea what the controls are, but they aren't keyboard/mouse, xbox controller or the HP controllers. Telepathy?

Watched no end of youtube videos, says it's easy just go into settings....where?

I can see why Meta aren't interested in PC VR. Just nowhere near good enough.

anyway, regards to the headset itself. The FOV is smaller than Quest2, the quality of the displays are maybe a tiny bit better, but nothing to write home about. Velcro everywhere, so it's a pain to get it on and off.
 
Associate
Joined
20 Aug 2019
Posts
2,055
Location
SW Florida
Well my Reverb G2 arrived this morning. What an awful, awful headset. Absolutely crap, so it's being returned.

Spent 2hrs messing about with mixed reality and steamvr getting nowhere. Just can't see the desktop, nor play any games. Hell, can't even move around in steamvr lol When the headsets on, my monitors switch off haha No idea what the controls are, but they aren't keyboard/mouse, xbox controller or the HP controllers. Telepathy?

Watched no end of youtube videos, says it's easy just go into settings....where?

I can see why Meta aren't interested in PC VR. Just nowhere near good enough.

anyway, regards to the headset itself. The FOV is smaller than Quest2, the quality of the displays are maybe a tiny bit better, but nothing to write home about. Velcro everywhere, so it's a pain to get it on and off.


There is a part (or parts) of the puzzle you are missing somewhere. I have built multiple VR rigs over the past 18 months using the G1 and G2 headsets with both AMD and Nvidia cards.

The G2's had USB connection issues early on, but the new G2's use a new cable and the one I built in December of last year was rock solid stable.

The Reverbs (1 and 2) work well for seated VR. Maybe yours is just deffective?
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
14,487
There is a part (or parts) of the puzzle you are missing somewhere. I have built multiple VR rigs over the past 18 months using the G1 and G2 headsets with both AMD and Nvidia cards.

The G2's had USB connection issues early on, but the new G2's use a new cable and the one I built in December of last year was rock solid stable.

The Reverbs (1 and 2) work well for seated VR. Maybe yours is just deffective?

Mines the V2. The headset is found, but when I load iracing the only options I get are monitor, oculus, openvr (no steamvr)
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
14,487
Have you tried the openvr option?

Yeah, I got a bit further now. I deleted app.ini from iracing and now it loads. What a pain this has been!

Sweetspot is a bit crap, but going to give it a bit of time before deciding. It's not as good as I'd hoped.

:edit: Nah, not worth £550. It's going back.
Gluten for punishment. I'll persevere a bit longer.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
16 Jul 2010
Posts
4,134
Apparently the Pixels Per Inch of the G2 isn't really any better than the Quest 2. Biggest advantage is the uncompressed DP connection.
 
Associate
Joined
13 Jun 2013
Posts
363
Apparently the Pixels Per Inch of the G2 isn't really any better than the Quest 2. Biggest advantage is the uncompressed DP connection.
pixels per degree matters most to clarity of display, iirc the G2 is about 24, the Quest 2 is about 20, so not a world of difference no, but noticeable (to me). not knocking the Q2, for the price it has a great display, binocular overlap is fantastic, its 1 of the most easy on the eyes displays ive come across.
 
Top